At least the gymnastics is over

I realized last night that I do not have the mental fortitude necessary to be an Olympic athlete. (The realization that I do not have any of the physical talents necessary to compete in an Olympic sport came long long ago).

I know this because as I sat alternately choking up and then sobbing outright at Shawn Johnson’s gold medal win, she beamed and grinned and bit her lips and held herself together. Like a champ. An Olympic champ. And I sobbed like some kind of second-string intramural alternate.

I get much less emotional over the diving.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “At least the gymnastics is over

  1. Badger

    yeah, i know what you mean. just by mentioning the word olympics, and i can be a completely mess.

  2. Badger

    I lost it when the mom broke down and dad’s face turned red.

  3. Badger

    dude, it’s like we’re emailing in public.

Leave a Reply

